Virginia Cycling Association

Meeting Minutes

Date/Time	January 18, 2025, 9:00 AM
Location	Varina Area Library, 1875 New Market Rd., Henrico, VA 23231
Members Present	James Schaefer, President Carolyn Goble – Vice President (r) Dan Netzer, Secretary Graham Costa, Steve Hendricks (r), George Qadado Reps. from Celerity Cycling, THR Cycling, ECE Racing/IR4D, WeeWheel Women's Racing, Velo Racing Virginia and guests
Members Absent	Laura Cook, Treasurer C. Robert Cone – Member at large
Agenda Items	 Reports from Treasurer, Officials Coordinator, Juniors, Paras, CX, MTB. James announced he'd be resigning from the Board and as President. Lucille O'Neil will be taking over as the Paras' Representative.
Championship Voting	 Three events were awarded championships, uncontested: Age-graded Time Trial: PGT Memorial Time Trial Senior Criterium: Chesapeake Criterium Age-graded Criterium: Hampton Criterium No road race, hill-climb events are scheduled.
Proposed Rule Changes	 "Allow unattached riders on teams not in good standing to win the BAR competition. To be eligible, individuals must pay a \$20 fee plus BikeReg service fees by March 15th, with a \$5 late fee applied for each month the payment is late. All payments, including late fees, must be paid prior to the last BAR event of the season." - Passed "In BAR or state championship races measured by time, events must have equal durations irrespective of gender, based on the highest category present in each race." - Passed
Elections	 Graham Costa was unanimously elected President. Maggie Hopkins was unanimously elected Women's Rider Representative, pending Association Membership. Graham Costa will be new Social Media Manager.
Next Meeting	The next meeting will be scheduled following the 2026 road season at a date and time to be determined.
Adjournment	Meeting was unanimously adjourned at 12:30 PM